Our mission is to celebrate and nurture youth leaders by helping them develop a deep sense of self and responsibility for improving their communities.


The youth in our program serving the community during the 2019-20 program year

service hours to date in the 2019-20 program year
community partners to date in the 2019-20 program year


During the 2018-19 program year, the JWLA volunteered 795 hours and partnered with the following community organizations:

  • A Just Harvest Community Kitchen, Chicago
  • Alliance for the Great Lakes, Evanston
  • Beth Emet Synagogue, Evanston
  • Campus Kitchens, Northwestern University
  • Connections for the 炫乐彩票官方网站下载less, Evanston
  • The Cradle, Evanston
  • Evanston Animal Shelter, Evanston
  • Evanston School Children’s Clothing Association, Evanston
  • Family Focus
  • Fleetwood-Jourdain Community Center, Evanston
  • Gates Manor, Wilmette
  • Girls Play Sports, Evanston
  • Habitat for Humanity, Northern Fox Valley
  • Hemenway Methodist Church Soup Kitchen, Evanston
  • The Mather, Evanston
  • McGaw YMCA, Evanston
  • Meals at 炫乐彩票官方网站下载, Evanston
  • The Night Ministry, Chicago
  • Park School, Evanston
  • Parks & Recreation Adopt-a-Park, Evanston
  • Pennies for Peace, Bozeman, MT
  • School District 65, Evanston
  • School District 202, Evanston
  • The Talking Farm, Skokie
  • Unitarian Church of Evanston
  • Vineyard Food Pantry and Clothes Closet, Evanston

A portion of the proceeds raised at the 2nd annual JWF SoccerFest on September 2, 2018 was donated to Books and Breakfast.

A portion of the proceeds raised at the 15th annual JWLA 3-on-3 Basketball Tournament on March 10, 2019 was donated to Connections for the 炫乐彩票官方网站下载less.


2019 Marcia Wynn Award recipients

The 2019 Marcia Wynn Award was presented to Kathy McDermott and Ronda Reneau at the Parent/Board dinner on September 25th. The Justin Wynn Fund created the Marcia Wynn Award in 2016 to honor parents who have been dedicated volunteers and supporters of the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy. Congratulations and thank you! Pictured from left to right: Kaila Holland, Ronda Reneau, Kathy McDermott, Drew McDermott
Read More

A fun 2019 SoccerFest

Thank you to all the participants, volunteers, sponsors, and partners for helping to make the 2019 SoccerFest a huge success!

Results and photos are found on the SoccerFest Event page.

Read More

Wynners at the JWLA Leadership Camp!

Over the August 9-11 weekend, 56 Wynners came to the YMCA Camp Duncan for the annual JWLA Leadership Camp. It was a weekend packed with meetings, team building, plenty of fun, and very little sleep! What a great way to start the new program year!

Read More

2019 Catherine McKnight Scholarship Recipients Honored

Congratulations to ETHS graduates, Jacelyne Myrthil and Shawn Johnson, Jr., recipients of the first annual Catherine McKnight Scholarship Awards. This fall, Jacelyne will be attending Western Michigan University and Shawn will study at MoreHouse College.

Catherine McKnight, lovingly known as “Granny”, was Justin’s grandmother and the matriarch of the Wynn family. She was a beloved teacher in Evanston School District 65 for more than 30 years and an unwavering supporter of the Justin Wynn Fund. The Justin Wynn Fund Board of Directors created the Catherine McKnight Scholarship in 2019 to honor both her memory and her passion for education and community service.

Read More

The 2011 Justin Wynn Awards recipients graduate from ETHS

Congratulations to the 2011 Justin Wynn Award recipients on their graduation from ETHS this spring. This senior class was recognized at the Justin Wynn Awards Brunch held on May 5, 2019, at the Hilton Orrington Evanston. Their leadership will be missed in the Justin Wynn Leadership Academy.

Many of the 2011 Justin Wynn Award recipients will be continuing their educations at schools that include: Northwestern University, University of Illinois, Amherst College, DePauw University, Tufts University, and Oberlin College. Best wishes on their journeys!

Photo courtesy of Genie Lemieux/Evanston Photographic Studios

Read More

The 2019 Justin Wynn Awards Brunch

In a ceremony at the Hilton Orrington Evanston, the Justin Wynn Fund honored the 32nd class of Justin Wynn Award recipients. Attendees included Mayor Hagerty, Dr. Witherspoon, Dr. Goren, Alderman Braithewaite, and Former Mayor Tisdahl.

Pictured with the 2019 recipients from left to right are: Riian Wynn, Laura Wynn-King and Kelli Wynn.

Photo courtesy of Genie Lemieux/Evanston Photographic Studios

Read More